Skip to content
MrKeyword
Comparisons

SE Ranking vs Ahrefs: prices, rank tracking and which one to pick

SE Ranking and Ahrefs both research any domain from their own databases. SE Ranking leans on daily rank tracking at a lower price; Ahrefs is best known for its backlink data. This page compares every plan's price and limit, read on each vendor's own pricing page (checked November 2026), works out the cost for a three-person agency, and says who each one suits. We make MrKeyword, a smaller tool, so read our section with that in mind.

An analytics workspace with SEO charts, illustrating a comparison of two SEO tools
The short version
  • Same entry price, different limits: SE Ranking Core and Ahrefs Lite both cost $129 a month (November 2026), but Core tracks 2,000 keywords daily against 750 weekly on Lite.
  • For a three-person agency, SE Ranking Growth costs $279 a month with 3 manager seats included; Ahrefs Lite with two extra users is $209 and Standard $369.
  • Ahrefs is the deeper link and research tool: Standard and above list unlimited per user credits, and Standard keeps 2 years of history.
  • Trials and free use: SE Ranking offers a 14-day free trial, no credit card; Ahrefs lists no trial listed; Ahrefs Free instead, which covers sites you verify.
  • On a budget, MrKeyword (our product) has a free backlink checker and domain authority checker built on a sample of the web, so its numbers are estimates, not Ahrefs or SE Ranking data.

Disclosure: MrKeyword publishes this page, and MrKeyword overlaps with both tools for work on your own site. Every price and plan limit below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, and the date we read it is printed under each table. Where a page did not state a figure, we leave it out rather than guess.

Quick verdict

  • Pick SE Ranking if rank tracking across many sites is the core of the work: Core tracks 2,000 keywords daily across 10 projects for $129 a month, and Growth 5,000 across 30 projects.
  • Pick Ahrefs if you research other sites' backlinks and keywords every day: Site Explorer and Keywords Explorer are its core, and Standard ($249) and above list unlimited per user credits.
  • SE Ranking is cheaper for teams: Growth includes 3 manager seats; every Ahrefs plan below Enterprise includes 1 user, and extra users cost $40/mo (up to 2) on Lite to $80/mo (up to 10) on Advanced.
  • If you only work on your own site, Search Console and Ahrefs Free cost nothing, and you may not need either paid plan.

SE Ranking vs Ahrefs pricing: every plan

Both start at $129 a month for a full plan (SE Ranking Core, Ahrefs Lite); Ahrefs also sells a smaller Starter plan at $29 and goes up to $1,499 for Enterprise, while SE Ranking's top plan is a custom price. SE Ranking takes 20% off for yearly billing, so Core falls to $103.20 a month. Ahrefs says paying annually saves up to 17%, but its pricing page shows monthly prices only. Our SE Ranking pricing and Ahrefs pricing guides cover each plan in more depth.

SE Ranking plans, as of November 2026

PlanMonthly billingBilled yearly, per monthProjects / sitesTracked keywordsRank updatesUsersExtra user
Core$129/mo$103.20/mo10 projects2,000Daily1 manager seatFrom $16
Growth$279/mo$223.20/mo30 projects5,000Daily3 manager seatsFrom $16
EnterpriseCustomCustomCustomCustomDailyCustomNot stated
From seranking.com/subscription.html, read on 1 November 2026, in US dollars. Prices are as the vendor lists them; taxes are not included unless the vendor says so.

Ahrefs plans, as of November 2026

PlanMonthly billingProjects / sitesTracked keywordsRank updatesCreditsUsersExtra user
Starter
Monthly renewal only
$29/mo1 unverified, unlimited verified (help center)50 (help center)Not stated200 a month, no top-ups (help center)1, cannot add users (help center)Not stated
Lite$129/mo5 unverified, unlimited verified750Weekly1,000 per user a month1$40/mo (up to 2)
Standard$249/mo20 unverified, unlimited verified2,000WeeklyUnlimited per user1$60/mo (up to 5)
Advanced$449/mo50 unverified, unlimited verified5,000WeeklyUnlimited per user1$80/mo (up to 10)
Enterprise
Annual commitment required
$1,499/mo100 unverified, unlimited verifiedFrom 10,000WeeklyUnlimited per userFrom 3$100/mo
From ahrefs.com/pricing and help.ahrefs.com/en/articles/9419051-about-ahrefs-starter-plan, read on 2 November 2026, in US dollars. Prices are as the vendor lists them; taxes are not included unless the vendor says so. Starter's limits come from Ahrefs' help center, because the pricing page lists none.

Mind the refund terms before paying yearly. SE Ranking says: payments are non-refundable unless the service was not delivered as promised. Ahrefs says: no refunds in general; unused monthly plans may be refunded on request.

What an agency with 3 users pays

For 3 users, SE Ranking Growth is $279 a month with every seat included, against $209 for Ahrefs Lite and $369 for Ahrefs Standard once you add two users. The sums below are our arithmetic on each plan's included seats and the extra-user price on its pricing page, at monthly billing.

Monthly cost for 3 users, as of November 2026

Tool and planPlan priceUsers includedExtra users neededTotal for 3 users
SE Ranking Core$129/mo1 manager seat2 × $16 (from)from $161/mo
SE Ranking Growth$279/mo3 manager seatsNone needed$279/mo
Ahrefs Lite$129/mo12 × $40$209/mo
Ahrefs Standard$249/mo12 × $60$369/mo
Ahrefs Advanced$449/mo12 × $80$609/mo
Ahrefs Enterprise$1,499/mo (annual commitment required)From 3None neededfrom $1,499/mo
US dollars before tax, monthly billing. SE Ranking read on seranking.com on 1 November 2026; extra manager seats are from $16 each, so Core's total is a starting figure. Ahrefs read on ahrefs.com/pricing on 2 November 2026; Ahrefs Starter is left out because its help article lists its users as “1, cannot add users”.

Two add-ons change the sum for agencies. SE Ranking's Agency Pack adds white-label reports, client seats and a lead generator for +$69 a month on annual billing only. Ahrefs sells Report Builder for $99 a month. Ahrefs also lists a casual extra Lite user (6 to 100 credits a month) for $20 a month, which would bring Lite to $169 for 3 users if two of them only look things up now and then.

Keyword research

Both research keywords and competitors for any domain from their own databases; Ahrefs meters that research with credits on its smaller plans, while SE Ranking includes it in Core and Growth.

  • Ahrefs: Keywords Explorer and Site Explorer show search volumes, keyword difficulty and the keywords another domain ranks for. On Starter and Lite, opening a report, applying a filter or asking for more data spends a credit: Starter includes 200 a month and Lite 1,000 per user, with pay-as-you-go credits on Lite at $50 per 500. Standard and above list unlimited per user credits.
  • SE Ranking: keyword and competitor research come inside Core and Growth, with no credit meter on its pricing page, and AI visibility tracking is included, with more prompts sold from $71 a month.

Neither vendor publishes its keyword database size counted the same way, so we do not rank their databases. Ahrefs keeps 6 months of history on Lite, 2 years on Standard and 5 years on Advanced; SE Ranking's pricing page does not list a history length in our dataset.

Both sell backlink research on any domain from their own web-wide link index; Ahrefs is the tool most teams pick when links are the main job. Each counts its index differently, so we do not compare their sizes. Ahrefs Free shows 1,000 backlinks and keywords visible at once for sites you verify, which covers your own links at no cost. To compare link data on a domain you know well, use SE Ranking's 14-day free trial, no credit card; Ahrefs lists no trial listed; Ahrefs Free instead. Our Semrush vs Ahrefs and Ahrefs vs Moz comparisons cover Ahrefs against the other link tools.

Site audit

Both include a crawler-based site audit on paid plans, and both raise the allowance on higher plans. Ahrefs counts audits in crawl credits: 100,000 a month on Lite, 500,000 a month on Standard and 1,500,000 a month on Advanced, and Site Audit does not spend report credits. Ahrefs Free audits sites you verify with 5,000 crawl credits per project a month, checking 170+ technical and on-page issues. SE Ranking's audit caps are not in our dataset, so we do not quote them. For a single page, our free site audit runs with no sign-up.

Rank tracking

SE Ranking tracks more keywords for the money and updates them daily; Ahrefs updates rankings weekly.

Tool and planMonthly billingTracked keywordsRank updatesProjects
SE Ranking Core$129/mo2,000Daily10 projects
SE Ranking Growth$279/mo5,000Daily30 projects
Ahrefs Lite$129/mo750Weekly5 unverified, unlimited verified
Ahrefs Standard$249/mo2,000Weekly20 unverified, unlimited verified
Ahrefs Advanced$449/mo5,000Weekly50 unverified, unlimited verified

At $129 a month, SE Ranking Core tracks 2,000 keywords, 2.7 times the 750 on Ahrefs Lite at the same price. Ahrefs Standard reaches 2,000 for $249, and SE Ranking Growth matches Ahrefs Advanced's 5,000 for $279 against $449. SE Ranking also sells extra tracked keywords from $22.40. Rank Tracker does not spend Ahrefs credits. For trackers built only for this job, see best rank tracking software.

Where MrKeyword fits

If you only need a rough read of a domain's links, MrKeyword, which we make, has a free backlink checker and a free domain authority checker; for your own sites it is free for one website and $10 a month after that. It is not a replacement for SE Ranking or Ahrefs:

  • The backlink checker lists a domain's referring domains with their Link Authority, and the domains gained or lost between web graph releases.
  • The domain authority checker shows Link Authority, MrKeyword's own 0 to 100 score from a PageRank over its link graph. It is not Ahrefs DR and will not match it.
  • Both read data built from the Common Crawl domain-level web graph plus MrKeyword's own crawler. That is a sample of the web, not a full index, so treat every figure as an estimate.

For your own site, MrKeyword reads your Google Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools data, keeps a daily history, crawls your site and gets keyword volumes from Google Keyword Planner through the official Google Ads API.

MrKeyword plans (our product)

PlanMonthly billingBilled yearlyWebsitesTracked keywordsRank updatesUsers
Free$0$01 website25Daily, from Search Console1
Starter$10/mo$8.33/mo ($100 a year)1 website500Daily, from Search Console2
Growth$19/mo$15.83/mo ($190 a year)3 websites1,500Daily, from Search Console3
Agency$49/mo$40.83/mo ($490 a year)10 websites5,000Daily, from Search Console10
From our pricing page. We make MrKeyword. Its positions are Google's own average positions from your Search Console, so they cover sites you verify, not competitors' sites.
  • No web-scale keyword index. It cannot list every keyword a competitor ranks for. Its search volumes come from Google Keyword Planner through the official Google Ads API, for the keywords you research.
  • Competitor positions are predicted, not measured. The Competitors tab in rank tracking estimates where rival domains rank from MrKeyword's own index and labels every figure Predicted.
  • No live SERP checks. It never scrapes Google. Your positions are Google's own average positions from Search Console (and Bing Webmaster Tools), for sites you verify, with Google's usual 2 to 3 day delay.
  • A smaller link index. Backlinks and Link Authority come from MrKeyword's web graph, which is smaller than the link indexes the big suites run.
  • No local pack, map or ads tracking, and no social media or PPC toolkits.

Check any domain's backlinks freeNo sign-up. Referring domains and Link Authority are MrKeyword's own estimates from a sample of the web.

Open the backlink checker

For every vendor side by side, see SEO tool pricing compared. SE Ranking and Ahrefs are trademarks of their owners, used here only to compare them. MrKeyword is not affiliated with either.

Questions and answers

SE Ranking vs Ahrefs questions

Is SE Ranking as good as Ahrefs?

For rank tracking, SE Ranking gives more for the money: Core tracks 2,000 keywords daily for $129 a month, where Ahrefs Lite tracks 750 weekly for $129. Ahrefs is the deeper tool for backlink and competitor research, with unlimited per user credits from Standard up.

Which is cheaper, SE Ranking or Ahrefs?

For the same $129 a month, SE Ranking Core includes more tracked keywords and projects than Ahrefs Lite, and billed yearly Core falls to $103.20. Ahrefs' smallest plan, Starter, costs $29 and its help article lists its users as "1, cannot add users" (prices checked November 2026).

What does SE Ranking or Ahrefs cost for 3 users?

SE Ranking Growth is $279 a month with 3 manager seats included, and SE Ranking Core with two extra seats is from $161. Ahrefs Lite with two extra users is $209, Standard $369 and Advanced $609, at monthly billing.

Does SE Ranking or Ahrefs have a free trial?

SE Ranking offers a 14-day free trial, no credit card, but no free plan. Ahrefs lists no trial listed; Ahrefs Free instead: Ahrefs Free covers sites you verify, with 1,000 backlinks and keywords visible at once.

Is there a free alternative for checking backlinks?

MrKeyword's free backlink checker and domain authority checker show referring domains and its own Link Authority for any site, with no sign-up. The data comes from a Common Crawl web-graph sample plus its own crawler, so it is an estimate, not Ahrefs or SE Ranking data.

About this article

Written by the MrKeyword team, who build an SEO workspace on first-party Search Console and Bing data. Outside facts link to their original source below. We update this page when the product or the sources change.

Sources

  1. SE Ranking plans and pricing — plans, prices and limits; checked 1 November 2026
  2. Ahrefs pricing — plans, prices and limits; checked 2 November 2026
  3. Ahrefs: help.ahrefs.com/en/articles/9419051-about-ahrefs-starter-plan — limits, add-ons or terms; checked 2 November 2026
  4. Ahrefs: ahrefs.com/traffic-analytics — limits, add-ons or terms; checked 2 November 2026
  5. Ahrefs: help.ahrefs.com/en/articles/6061657-ahrefs-usage-based-pricing-for-credit-based-plans — limits, add-ons or terms; checked 2 November 2026
  6. Ahrefs: ahrefs.com/free — limits, add-ons or terms; checked 2 November 2026
  7. Common Crawl — the open web crawl behind MrKeyword's web graph
  8. MrKeyword pricing — our own plans and limits
Keep reading

More on SEO tool comparisons, plus the feature and free tool for the same job. All SEO tool comparisons guides →

Do the weekly SEO work on data you already own.

Connect Google Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools to MrKeyword for rankings, keyword volumes, audits and reports, each with its source. Free plan for one website, no card; paid plans from $10 a month.