Skip to content
MrKeyword
Comparisons

Ahrefs vs Moz: prices, DR vs DA and which one to pick

Ahrefs and Moz Pro are both known first for links: Ahrefs for its backlink index and Domain Rating, Moz for Domain Authority and Link Explorer. This page compares every plan's price, read on each vendor's own pricing page (checked November 2026), explains DR vs DA, and sets out what each does better. We make MrKeyword, a smaller tool, so read our section with that in mind.

An SEO dashboard comparing metrics across several charts
The short version
  • Neither is better at everything. Ahrefs is the deeper research tool for backlinks and keywords on any site; Moz is the home of Domain Authority and MozBar, with a lower entry price.
  • Prices (November 2026, monthly billing): Ahrefs from $29 (Starter) and $129 (Lite) to $449 (Advanced), Enterprise $1,499; Moz Pro from $49 (Starter, one website) and $99 (Standard) to $299 (Large).
  • DR vs DA: Ahrefs' Domain Rating and Moz's Domain Authority are each a third-party score built from that vendor's own link index. Google uses neither, and the two numbers are not comparable.
  • Free use: Ahrefs Free covers sites you verify (Site Explorer, Site Audit, Web Analytics); a free Moz Community account gives limited MozBar, Keyword Explorer and Link Explorer access, enough to check DA.
  • On a budget, MrKeyword (our product) has a free domain authority checker and backlink checker built on a sample of the web, so its numbers are estimates, not Ahrefs DR or Moz DA.

Disclosure: MrKeyword publishes this page, and MrKeyword overlaps with both tools for work on your own site. Every price below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, and the date we read it is printed next to it. Where a page did not state something, we say so rather than guess.

Quick verdict

  • Pick Ahrefs if you research other sites' backlinks and keywords often: Site Explorer and Keywords Explorer are its core, and Standard and above list unlimited credits per user.
  • Pick Moz if Domain Authority is the number you report on: only Moz calculates DA, MozBar shows it as you browse, and Link Explorer is its backlink tool.
  • Moz starts cheaper for real use: Moz Standard is $99 a month with 3 campaigns and 300 tracked keywords; Ahrefs Lite is $129 with 750 tracked keywords but only 1,000 credits per user a month. Ahrefs Starter ($29) and Moz Starter ($49) are the smallest entry points.
  • For teams, Moz Medium includes 2 users and Large 3, extra seats $49 a month; Ahrefs Lite, Standard and Advanced include 1 user each, with extra users from $40 to $80 a month.
  • If you only work on your own site, Search Console and Ahrefs Free cost nothing, and you may not need either paid plan.

Ahrefs vs Moz pricing: every plan

Ahrefs' plans run from $29 to $449 a month, with Enterprise at $1,499 on an annual commitment; Moz Pro's plans run from $49 to $299 a month. Ahrefs says paying annually saves up to 17%, but its pricing page shows monthly prices only. Moz gives 20% off the base plan when you pay yearly, quoted as the price for your first year. Our Ahrefs pricing and Moz Pro pricing guides cover credits, add-ons, extra users and research limits.

Ahrefs and Moz Pro plans, as of November 2026

ToolPlanMonthly billingYearly billing, per monthProjects / campaignsTracked keywordsRank updates
AhrefsStarter$29/moMonthly only1 unverified, unlimited verified projects*50*Not shown
AhrefsLite$129/moNot shown5 unverified, unlimited verified750Weekly
AhrefsStandard$249/moNot shown20 unverified, unlimited verified2,000Weekly
AhrefsAdvanced$449/moNot shown50 unverified, unlimited verified5,000Weekly
AhrefsEnterprise$1,499/mo (annual commitment required)Not shown100 unverified, unlimited verifiedFrom 10,000Weekly
Moz ProStarter$49/moNot shown1 websiteNot shown on the pricing pageNot shown
Moz ProStandard$99/mo$79/mo3 campaigns300Not shown
Moz ProMedium$179/mo$143/mo10 campaigns1,500Not shown
Moz ProLarge$299/mo$239/mo25 campaigns3,000Not shown
US dollars before tax. Ahrefs read on ahrefs.com/pricing on 2 November 2026; *Starter's limits come from Ahrefs' Starter help article, because the pricing page lists none. Moz Pro read on moz.com/products/pro/pricing on 1 November 2026; Moz's pricing page does not list Starter's limits or how often rankings update. A Moz campaign tracks one site plus three competitors.

Ahrefs' hidden limit is credits: on Starter and Lite, opening a report, applying a filter or asking for more data spends one. Starter includes 200 a month and Lite 1,000 per user; Site Audit and Rank Tracker do not use credits. Moz caps research differently, with monthly keyword and backlink query allowances per plan.

Domain Rating vs Domain Authority

Ahrefs' Domain Rating (DR) and Moz's Domain Authority (DA) are both third-party scores of a site's link strength on a 100-point scale, and Google uses neither. Moz itself says Domain Authority is not a Google ranking factor. Each score is calculated by one company from its own link index, so the same site gets different numbers in each tool.

  • Ahrefs DR measures the strength of a site's backlink profile compared with others in Ahrefs' database. A linking domain's rating is split equally among the domains it links to, then scaled into 0 to 100. Ahrefs' free Website Authority Checker shows it.
  • Moz DA is a 1 to 100 score Moz builds with a machine learning model over its Link Explorer index, where linking root domains and link quality weigh most. A free Moz account or MozBar shows it.

Never compare a DR with a DA: a DR of 40 and a DA of 40 do not describe the same strength. Pick one tool and compare your site with competitors inside it. Our guide to what domain authority is covers both scores and Semrush's Authority Score, and what backlinks are explains the links behind them.

Where Ahrefs is better

  • Research on any site at depth. Site Explorer shows another domain's backlinks, organic keywords and top pages, and Keywords Explorer handles open-ended keyword research. Standard and above list unlimited credits per user, so daily research is not capped by credits.
  • History. Standard keeps 2 years of history and Advanced 5 years.
  • More tracked keywords on the top plans. Standard tracks 2,000 and Advanced 5,000, against 3,000 on Moz Large; Ahrefs updates them weekly.
  • A stronger free tier for your own site. Ahrefs Free gives Site Explorer, Site Audit and Web Analytics for sites you verify, with 1,000 backlinks and keywords visible at once and 5,000 crawl credits per project a month. Ahrefs says it is not a trial.

Where Moz is better

  • Domain Authority. Moz created DA, and many clients, link sellers and agencies still quote it. Only Moz calculates it, so if a report or contract names Moz DA, no other tool can give you the real number.
  • MozBar. Moz's free browser toolbar shows Domain Authority, backlinks and linking root domains for the page you are on.
  • A lower price for real use. Moz Standard at $99 a month, or $79 a month paid yearly, costs less than Ahrefs Lite at $129, and has no credit meter.
  • Users included. Moz Medium includes 2 users and Large 3; every Ahrefs plan below Enterprise includes 1.
  • A free trial. Moz Pro offers one (its pricing page does not state the length); Ahrefs offers no free trial on paid plans and points to Ahrefs Free instead.

For a wider field, Semrush vs Ahrefs sets Ahrefs against Semrush, Moz vs Semrush does the same for Moz, and our Moz alternatives page compares Moz Pro with the main suites.

A cheaper option: MrKeyword's free checkers

If you only need a rough read of a domain's link strength, MrKeyword, which we make, has a free domain authority checker and a free backlink checker. They are honest estimates, not a replacement for Ahrefs or Moz:

  • The domain authority checker shows Link Authority, MrKeyword's own 0 to 100 score from a PageRank over its link graph. It is not Ahrefs DR and not Moz DA, and will not match them.
  • The backlink checker lists a domain's referring domains with their Link Authority, and the domains gained or lost between web graph releases.
  • Both read data built from the Common Crawl domain-level web graph plus MrKeyword's own crawler. That is a sample of the web, not a full index, far smaller than Ahrefs' or Moz's, so treat every figure as an estimate.

For your own site, MrKeyword reads your Google Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools data and keeps a daily history. Free covers 1 website, 25 tracked keywords and 100 audit pages a month; Starter is $10 a month, Growth $19 and Agency $49 (see pricing).

Compare link strength freeCheck up to 5 domains at once with no sign-up. Link Authority is MrKeyword's own estimate from a sample of the web.

Open the domain authority checker

Ahrefs, Domain Rating, Moz, Moz Pro and Domain Authority are trademarks of their owners, used here only to compare them. MrKeyword is not affiliated with either.

Questions and answers

Ahrefs vs Moz questions

Is Ahrefs better than Moz?

Neither is better at everything. Ahrefs suits deep backlink and keyword research on any site, with unlimited credits per user from Standard up. Moz is the only source of Domain Authority, has MozBar, and costs less to start, which suits DA reporting and lighter link work.

Which is cheaper, Ahrefs or Moz?

Moz Pro is cheaper for comparable plans: Standard is $99 a month ($79 paid yearly), against $129 for Ahrefs Lite. The smallest plans are Ahrefs Starter at $29 and Moz Starter at $49 (prices checked November 2026).

What is the difference between DR and DA?

DR is Ahrefs' Domain Rating and DA is Moz's Domain Authority. Both estimate link strength on a 100-point scale, but each comes from its own link index and formula, so a site's DR and DA are not comparable. Google uses neither.

Can I use Ahrefs or Moz for free?

Yes, in a limited way. Ahrefs Free gives Site Explorer, Site Audit and Web Analytics for sites you verify. A free Moz Community account gives limited MozBar, Keyword Explorer and Link Explorer access, enough to check Domain Authority.

Is there a free alternative to check DR or DA?

MrKeyword's free domain authority checker and backlink checker show its own Link Authority and referring domains for any site, with no sign-up. The data comes from a Common Crawl web-graph sample plus its own crawler, so it is an estimate, not Ahrefs DR or Moz DA.

About this article

Written by the MrKeyword team, who build an SEO workspace on first-party Search Console and Bing data. Outside facts link to their original source below. We update this page when the product or the sources change.

Sources

  1. Ahrefs pricing — checked 2 November 2026; plans, credits, history, projects, tracked keywords, users
  2. About Ahrefs' Starter plan — Ahrefs help center: Starter's credits, tracked keywords and projects
  3. Ahrefs usage-based pricing — Ahrefs help center: what spends a credit
  4. Ahrefs Free — Ahrefs, the free tier for verified sites, formerly Ahrefs Webmaster Tools
  5. What is Domain Rating (DR)? — Ahrefs Help Center, on how DR is calculated
  6. Moz Pro pricing — checked 1 November 2026; plans, yearly prices, campaigns, tracked keywords and users
  7. Moz Link Explorer — free account with 10 queries a month
  8. MozBar — Moz's free SEO toolbar
  9. What is Domain Authority? — Moz, on how DA works and that it is not a Google ranking factor
  10. Common Crawl — the open web crawl behind MrKeyword's web graph
  11. MrKeyword pricing — our own plans and limits
Keep reading

More on SEO tool comparisons, plus the feature and free tool for the same job. All SEO tool comparisons guides →

Do the weekly SEO work on data you already own.

Connect Google Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools to MrKeyword for rankings, keyword volumes, audits and reports, each with its source. Free plan for one website, no card; paid plans from $10 a month.